Posted by: rationalpsychic | Friday, August 10, 2007

I’ve Missed You.

I apologize for taking a three-week, unannounced leave of absence. I hadn’t intended to do it this way.

I lost my job in the middle of July and that had me scrambling. I still haven’t found a new job but I feel I’m getting much closer. When you have a disagreement about company policy and procedure, I was reminded that the company and the management team win those arguments.

I also had a problem with a network card that was keeping me from accessing the internet. I figured that without a job I was going to wait a while to get that card replaced. My girlfriend’s oldest son did some problem-solving for me and discovered that if you moved my network card one port over, it worked just fine. Then he installed “K” Ubuntu on my machine just for fun. What a beautiful interface. Now I have to get him to encourage my e-mail to work with this operating system.

There was a small worry on my part that I would have no reactions or concerns to write about now that I’ve been away from the blog so long. About the third blog I checked on had this foolish analysis of professional tennis along with some half-assed statement about how after fourteen years we can all laugh about Monica Seles being stabbed on the tennis court by some fan who didn’t understand what plane of existence he was operating on. So, I guess there are funny stabbings as opposed to the more recent, sadness-producing stabbings.

If that thinking is unusual to you, here’s the website to link to. Happy commenting!

Responses

  1. Glad to see you’re back.

  2. Any changes?

  3. Are you still out there?

  4. Yes. Happy to say that I was offered a job today (in my field, no less!) after four months of desperate search.

  5. Welcome back!


Leave a Reply

Categories

