Posted by: rationalpsychic | Saturday, June 23, 2007

I’m Going to See Michael Moore’s “Sicko”

My dear one and I are going to see “Sicko,” Michael Moore’s new movie about America’s trouble taking care of its citizens medically. It’s playing tonight at the Lagoon Theater in Minneapolis. I hope it’s something worth writing a blog about.

Last night she and I watched “Bowling for Columbine” together. She had seen it before but I hadn’t. I was surprised that this movie was controversial to any great extent. I thought he showed flexibility, rather than a dogmatic lockstep, in pointing out the disconnect between gun ownership and violent media since these factors don’t appear to bring about the same gun violence in other countries as is found in the U.S.

The connection I’ve never heard mentioned before, and that very fact seems to make it worth greater consideration, is that gun violence in America is connected with our long history of slavery, racism and hatred of all things foreign.

I found what I thought to be a balanced defense of “Bowling for Columbine” written by a fellow, Erik Möller at his site, Kuro5hin.

If Moore can give me as many new ways to think about the U.S. healthcare system in “Sicko” as he gave me ways to think about gun violence in “Bowling” I’ll be pleased.

Responses

  1. So, stop holding out? We almost made it to that showing. Stuck in Mankato, but we were set to go. Let me know if I should see it this weekend…

  2. What some insight into Michael Moore thinking? Read the entire “Public Health Crunch” blog before you see the movie! (http://phcrunch.wordpress.com/) This weeks topic is titled “Are CMEs becoming infomercials?”.

    Past topics included: “Patient dumping” and “Me too drugs”

    Take care.


Leave a Reply

Categories

