Posted by: rationalpsychic | Friday, June 8, 2007

Blogging for 29 Days

I’m writing just a short reflection tonight. Work took a lot of my time and didn’t leave me with with much for writing.

I’ve enjoyed my first three weeks of blogging very much. I’ve appreciated the encouragement I’ve gotten from an old friend and from Fairlane, a member of the “writer’s convergence” called Jones Town (my pretentious quotation marks, not Fairlane’s). And while the number of readers and feeders finding my blog has never gone over twenty, I was happy to hit even that mark in my first month. I haven’t learned much about the science of blog promotion yet.

When I got this idea in my head of writing and posting a blog I admit I did very little research. Since then I’ve been reading as many blogs as I can. I especially enjoy the human interest and political blogs that are out there. “The Raw Story” is a good example of a political blog I’ve found. There are many people out there doing some great things with this medium. I would even have to put “I CAN HAS CHEEZBURGER?” on that list of greatness I’ve witnessed to date.

I’ve been asked how I’ve focused, what am I trying to accomplish? I don’t always know, to be sure. But I know I’m trying to build an ability to write personal essays out of fewer than 500 words. And I feel I’m educating myself every time I set out to put some thought on the screen and make the effort to set it into a written structure. I admire those who create persuasive and logical rhetoric that promotes an ethical perspective which is developed rather than adopted.

And, yes, these are guidelines I’m describing rather than content areas. I don’t consider myself to be an expert on any given subject, not even that of my own life. I am not being paid by anyone so there’s no reason for me to write anything but what I please. I’ll trust myself to keep my pleasure from being anyone else’s pain. But I can’t promise I won’t become someone’s annoyance.

Cheers to you all. I hope you enjoy your weekend

.Truly at Kasota Prairie

Leave a Reply

Categories

